Who you calling an immigrant?!

One of my previous students, now a college student, posted this on her facebook page today with an lol.  I am truly saddened, disappointed, and offended.  I thought I taught her better, thinking everyday of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s quote “Intelligence plus character-that is the true goal of education.”  Then my mind  drifted to a poster one of my high school history teachers had that chilled me.  It was a statement made by Pastor Martin Niemoller in regards to German intellectuals reactions to the Nazi.

“THEY CAME FIRST for the Communists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Communist.

THEN THEY CAME for the Jews,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a Jew.

THEN THEY CAME for the trade unionists,
and I didn’t speak up because I wasn’t a trade unionist.

THEN THEY CAME for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up.”

It is a very similar situation.  People can easily sit back, shrug their shoulders and say, “oh well” about racist ass Arizona deciding to rid itself of Mexican illegal immigrants, because they aren’t Mexican illegal immigrants residing in Arizona.  Although it shouldn’t even start there, what if it doesn’t stop there or with profiling that population?  Arizona isn’t the only racist state, it just happens to be a blatantly racist one.

Now allow me to direct my attention back to this adorable patriotic image.  If you illegally cross into any of those countries listed, you have problems. They aren’t known as the land of freedom and opportunity but rather the land of dictatorship and oppression.

It’s ironic to me that the people complaining about immigrants are descendants of immigrants either voluntary or involuntary. Some of these same true blue Americans who so eagerly seek to throw Mexican illegal immigrants back over the border have been taking advantage of welfare, food stamps, free health care, free education and the ability to run-up credit cards, file for bankruptcy, and repeat the cycle seven years later for generations.  What solution is being offered for our home-grown leeches?

The truly indigenous Native Americans were damn near eradicated by people who used Manifest Destiny as an excuse to take over the continent. What do Mexicans want? To take over the land which their ancestors previously inhabited? Nope, just to fulfill the promise inscribed at the feet of the statue of liberty, “give me your poor, your tired…” I guess it’s no coincidence that the statue was placed with her smiling face and bright torch lighting the way toward Europe.

28 minutes ago ·

One thought on “Who you calling an immigrant?!

  1. WTF… How ignorant can you possibly be?. Have you been to high metropolitan areas where the Illegals run rampant? They are the worst offenders of the law, they rape, kill, sell drugs, steal, and do whatever they can to send money back home where the same things are happening there 9 times out of 10. La Ciudad de Juarez for example? Arizona isn’t racist for kicking their asses out they are doing what the Federal government should have been doing in the first place. I love being an American, but if I could have it my way I would rather the “great” Slave Trade never came to past, but now that I am here I refuse to lose jobs to illegals who work below minimal wage and commit atrocious crimes as I have to deal with the problems, because the government does not want to do their job. Another reason I want them out is, because they are outspoken. They aren’t supposed to be here in the first place, then they start demanding right, and we are required to fulfill them as if they were American citizens. Don’t get me wrong I see them as equals, but if you are here illegally you have no right to make us do shit for you the only thing you deserve is to stay whatever race you are and die. Nothing else you have to earn the rest through hard work.

    Turn them around sending them back home, and if they refused to cooperate arrest them, and if they attempt to fight back well let the sand cover up their bodies…

Leave a Reply

