You Ain’t Like Them Other Niggas

So I’m chatting with my business neighbor about how difficult it is to find a job or sustain a business in this economy.  I mentioned that I interviewed for a job with a predominately White company in a predominately White area.  He nodded acknowledgement.  I told him that I was more than qualified, but because so many people are out of work right now, I’ve got a lot of competition.  He nodded acknowledgement.  I then added that part of what I face is being a Black 6’4″ 250 pound male.  He immediately noted that anyone who talks with me would hire me–that the “Blackness goes away in two minutes” and that I’m “very intelligent and speak well.” 

What race do you suppose my business neighbor is?

4 thoughts on “You Ain’t Like Them Other Niggas

Leave a Reply

