R.I.P. Guru: The Brotha Had His Own Style

Hip hop icon Guru (one half of the group Gangstarr) passed on yesterday after losing a battle with cancer.  His death follows a month after having surgery for a heart attack.  The brotha was only 43!

…wild, with my monotone style.

Indeed, Guru had is own style, and the brotha successfully remained true to himself, never hopping on bandwagons in order to have “Mass Appeal.”  I have a lot of respect for him in that regard. 

If you click here, you will be able to read what are, apparently, his final words as told to his long time friend Solar.  Now that I’ve offered the link to where I found the information, I’d like to paste this one particular block of text regarding Guru’s thoughts on DJ Premier (the other half of Gangstarr).  I was shocked!

I do not wish my ex-DJ to have anything to do with my name likeness, events, tributes etc. connected in anyway to my situation including any use of my name or circumstance for any reason and I have instructed my lawyers to enforce this…I had nothing to do with him in life for over 7 years and want nothing to do with him in death. Solar has my life story and is well informed on my family situation, as well as the real reason for separating from my ex-DJ.

Whatever the reason for the separation, I speak peace into to the resting soul of Guru and solace and blessings into the life of his son.  Hetepu!

One thought on “R.I.P. Guru: The Brotha Had His Own Style

  1. Thanks for posting this. I’ve been writing 40-pages of research proposals all week, but was literally taken aback when I heard the news. Man, if aliens came down from outer space and asked to hear some music from Hip Hop’s “Golden Era,” you could put on anything from Gang Starr and it would be a proper tribute.

    In no order, my favorite 5 Gang Starr joints of all time are:
    *Moment of Truth
    *Dwyck
    *Code of the Streets
    *Discipline
    *Ex Girl to the Next Girl

Leave a Reply

