What Do Google Searches Reveal About You?

If you use google as much as I do, you’ve noticed the suggested searches that google offers when you begin to type in your search request.  Today I typed the word “why” into the search box, and before I could finish typing my question, google offered several of the most popular searches beginning with the word “why.”  What were they?  In order, the most popular searches in google beginning with the word “why” are:

  1. Why do men have nipples?
  2. Why are Black people so loud?
  3. Why is the sky blue?
  4. Why can’t I own a Canadian?
  5. Why is my poop green?
  6. Why did I get married too?
  7. Why do dogs eat poop?
  8. Why are people posting colors on facebook?
  9. Why do cats purr?
  10. Why did the chicken cross the road?

What do these searches say to you?  I think #2 says a lot about race relations, and numbers 4 and 7 say something about the crap on a lot of folks’ minds.  Number 4 could be a WTF all by itself.  If anyone knows the answer to number 4, let me know.

Try other searches and look at the suggestions.  What are you learning about the people around you?

2 thoughts on “What Do Google Searches Reveal About You?

  1. XD Wow! #4 totally made me laugh. I think I have an answer to #4: Too many people with too much time on their hands + a computer + an unhealthy interest in Canadians. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Reading search suggestions is my pastime. (AKA, should google be a verb?) | @oliva

Leave a Reply

