Malcolm X 4 (R.I.P. El Hajj Malik El Shabazz)

We’d be remiss if we didn’t honor the legend.  He’s meant so much to Sundjata and I, and in many ways he’s been a father figure.  He might be the most important Black man of the last 60 years (no disrespect to King and Obama).  He’s certainly one of the most misunderstood and underappreciated, particularly with respect to the Civil Rights movement.  But if you read James Cone’s book, Martin and Malcolm, and America: Dream or a Nightmare, or even William Sale’s more digestable work, From Civil Rights to Black Liberation, what you will quickly find is that Malcolm X had both the U.S. government and the White power structure in a frenzy.  They were literally scared of and genuinely concerned about Malcolm X, with his plans to bring the U.S. up on charges at the U.N. convention, and with his ability to mobilize tens of thousands of the very people who were most likely to wage an all out revolt.  It is no exaggeration when I write that indirectly, I owe everything I’ve dreamed of and accomplished to Minister Malcolm, whom I’m far too young to have ever physically met.

Anyhow, the 45th anniversary of his passing was this past Sunday.  Keep him in your thoughts and prayers, or even better, emulate him. 

One thought on “Malcolm X 4 (R.I.P. El Hajj Malik El Shabazz)

  1. Truer words haven’t been spoken. I was just listening to a few of his recorded speeches just the other day thinking how much I miss him. Like you, I was too young to have had the opportunity to meet him, but his words resonate with me in ways I cannot fully express. I wish to goodness we had someone like him with the courage to say with conviction that which needs to be said. I wish I were such a person. I wish you were. I’d follow you!

Leave a Reply

