HIV/AIDS & The Truly Magical “Magic” Johnson

Sub-Saharan Africa is more heavily affected by HIV and AIDS than any other region of the world. An estimated 22 million people are living with HIV in the region – around two thirds of the global total. In 2007 around 1.5 million people died from AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa and 1.9 million people became infected with HIV. Since the beginning of the epidemic more than eleven million children have been orphaned by AIDS.

Magic Johnson

Magic Johnson

The preceding is a direct quote from www.avert.org/aafrica.  If you’ve never visited that site, I truly suggest you do.  There is plenty of information on the HIV/AIDS epidemic.  At any rate, in a recent conversation, an episode of Southpark was brought to my attention in which the cure for HIV/AIDS was money.  The Southpark characters were actually ingesting cash in order to cure or prevent an HIV/AIDS infection. 

This brings me to Mr. Johnson here to the left.  I have a great respect for this man for his world class basketball skills and–more importantly–for the many enterprises he supports and brings to Black neighborhoods, which are filled with Black workers.  In this regard, he is epitomizing an important Black nationalist principle–investing and reinvesting in Black communities.  Without looking it up to refresh my memory, I believe that it’s been over a decade since he announced that he had tested positive for HIV. 

Again, I’m not doing a whole lot (any really) research on this topic, but as I understand it, HIV has a typical gestation period of approximately ten years–a period of time that is long overdue with Magic.  I wish that man no ill.  I don’t want to see him sick.  However, I am curious as to how he survived developing full-blown AIDS. 

Every now and then, my friends and I converse on this very subject, and we always settle on the issue of money.  Is money the cure for HIV/AIDS?  Is money the “Magic” cure?

One thought on “HIV/AIDS & The Truly Magical “Magic” Johnson

Leave a Reply

