“Inglourious Basterds”–Actually, I Have a Better Idea

I saw “Inglourious Basterds,” the new Quentin Tarantino movie, which is a gory and interesting rewrite of the history of the fall of Hitler.  For the most part I enjoy Tarantino’s movies–though he never fails to fit the word “nigger” in all of his movies (he didn’t disappoint in this one either).  I won’t ruin the story for you if you haven’t seen it, and if you have seen it, perhaps you’d be interested in a rewrite that I’m currently drumming up support for.  I don’t deny that Tarantino’s movie inspired my own, but I think my idea is no less original, interesting, or deserving of your support.

My movie is called “God’s Savages!” (please include the exclamation point–it’s important).  Before you say anything, let me give you the summary.  The year is 1774.  There will be  several stories concurrently running in which revolutionary denizens of Ghana, Nigeria, Mali, Senegambia, and the present-day Kongo organize in order to completely stop the Afrikan slave trade.  In the Thirteen Colonies, there is, simultaneously, a group of enslaved Afrikans who, in the vein of “The Spook Who Sat by the Door” (read the book or see the movie if you haven’t), are planning on winning their freedom through a war of attrition; however, having received the good fortune of the Creator of all, Amen-Ra, they learn of a meeting to take place in Independence Hall on July 4th, 1776.  A new plan is organized in order to end  the cultural, physical, spiritual, political, social, and psychological genocide that is being perpetrated against Afrika and her people in one big bang.

The cast will consist of some serious thespians.  I’ve included a few pictures of some of the cast members who have already agreed to star in “God’s Savages!”  I don’t want to spoil the movie too much, so I haven’t included everyone, and there are a few talents that are going to more than surprise you, but I assure you, the depth and range of their abilities  make them perfect for this movie.

Angela Bassett

Angela Bassett

Djimon Hounsou

Djimon Hounsou

Don Cheadle

Don Cheadle

Erika Alexander

Erika Alexander

Lonette McKee

Lonette McKee

 If you would like to support the making of this film, you may contact the writer at “tellmewhyimwrong@gmail.com”.  Thank you for your support.
(left) Ving Rhames; (right) Wesley Snipes--both confirmed for this movie.

(left) Ving Rhames; (right) Wesley Snipes--both confirmed for this movie.

Of course, there are many more.  I would be remiss, however, if I failed to mention that the incomparable Lena Horne has agreed to make an appearance in the film!

There is no promise of a happy ending, but with all 56 leaders of the Thirteen Colonies present in one place, an over-zealous guard of Afrikan runaway slave police, and several freedom-thirsty revolutionary cells literally hungry for liberty, the drama and action will be unmatched.  This is a film that we can all identify with!  Let freedom be valued above all!

“We’re gonna be doin’ one thang and one thang only–that’s freein’ our people.  And, if a few slavetraders should find their brains dashed from their devilish heads, well, that will be mighty fine too.”


8 thoughts on ““Inglourious Basterds”–Actually, I Have a Better Idea

  1. You know I haven’t seen it. You’ve been tryna get me to go for a week now. Clearly, it’s a battle I’m winning.

  2. Wow. I did see the movie. Of course you know I tried to resist because I really despise Tarantino. His use of the “N-word” is so unnecessary all of the time! Anyhow, I hate to admit it but the movie was good otherwise.
    Your movie idea, however, is GENIUS! Lmbo! If Quentin can do it then you sure can.

Leave a Reply

