POP (Power of the Penis)

I’ve been adding my three cents (more “cents” than you, ha!) throughout the blogosphere lately, and Peggy McIntosh’s classic article on White privilege, “White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Backpack” continues to be relevant discourse in just about any area of life that has to do with status and privilege.  I’ve been thinking about my own privileges.  Though relatively few and ineffectual compared with White men, I do, as a man, have some important privileges compared to women in general.

And, in a McIntosh-esque manner, I have compiled a list of privileges that I hold as a Black man compared with Black women.  Many of these privileges extend beyond race to all women, but I want you to know that I am thinking of Black women specifically and women in general.  My list is as follows:

  1. If I choose, I can hang out in an all male group of friends without being characterized as a “gaggle” or a bunch of “chickens.”
  2. If I need to move, I can accomplish this on my own or without having to flirt or sell a sexual fantasy to a man in order to procure some help.
  3. I do not worry that mechanics are quoting me high prices because of my gender.
  4. My art is instantly credible until I prove everyone wrong.
  5. “I can go shopping alone most of the time, pretty well assured that I will not be followed or harassed.”
  6. “I can turn on the television or open to the front page of the paper and see [my gender] widely represented.”
  7. “When I am told about our national heritage or about ‘civilization,’ I am shown that [men] made it what it is.”
  8. “I can be sure that my children will be given curricular materials that testify to the [superiority of men].”
  9. People are more inclined to listen to me.
  10. I can dress how I want without people attributing my tastes to some inherent desire to be sexually accosted.
  11. When I’m famous for acting, I can be sure that I am recruited for new films based primarily on my talent rather than my looks.
  12. I can speak in any public arena without putting my gender on trial.
  13. When I am asked to speak for men, no matter what I say, I am still accepted.
  14. I can remain oblivious to the issues that concern women.
  15. Men literally control the world, and so I don’t have to give a second thought to telling women what to do with their bodies.
  16. “I can criticize our government and talk about how much I fear its policies and behavior without being seen” as a bitch.
  17. “I can be pretty sure that if I ask to talk to ‘the person in charge,’ I will be facing a [man].
  18. In no area of my life must I lower myself to my sexual potential in order to accomplish any of my goals.
  19. I can hold high-ranking positions within any organization without anyone thinking that I slept my way into that position.
  20. “I can be sure that if I need legal or medical help, my [gender] will not work against me.”
  21. I can choose not to cover a scar or blemish, and this can be considered ruggish, manly, or sexy in some way.
  22. I can impregnate a woman and leave without concern for how the fetus will be cared for.
  23. I don’t have to give birth!!!!
  24. If I choose to reveal some skin, no one assumes that I am “begging for it.”
  25. Rape is the furthest thing from my mind unless I’m planning to rape someone.
  26. When I meet a woman, I do not have to try to figure out if she is trying to sleep with me (well I do cuz I’m sexy!) or if she really just wants to talk to me.
  27. If I sleep around, I am sexually potent or praised as a manly man no matter how many partner I have.
  28. I can say that I “f*cked her” without someone thinking, “Yeah right, you got f*cked.”
  29. If I have an attitude, no one suspects a biological reason for it.
  30. If I’m confident, no one calls me a bitch.
  31. When I cheat and lie, it is expected, and so, my status is not lowered.
  32. People look me in my eyes when I speak.
  33. No matter how sick I am of any given woman, there is another woman right around the corner who is very acceptable and willing to put up with me.
  34. There are FAR more men than women.
  35. I am not expected or required to be successful in order to pull a very attractive and upwardly mobile woman (although it helps!).
  36. There is hardly a day that goes by that I don’t see at least one woman that I would be willing to have sex with.
  37. I don’t have to work harder than I normally would to account for people discounting me because I’m a man.
  38. I can be beautiful (yes “beautiful”) without anyone assuming I’m unintelligent.
  39. In my fifties I will be able to date women half my age and be considered a real man.
  40. There is hardly a job or profession on Earth that I cannot take on.

15 thoughts on “POP (Power of the Penis)

      • Oh, you’re so funny :/
        Really, I’m overwhelmed because it’s all so very true. Some I was already aware of and others were a disturbing revelation, or rather I was so blind to the fact some of these happen to me everyday, like #1, 2, 4, 13, 16, 17, 20, etc. Good to know how you men feel about an intelligent woman’s opinion or how women are viewed when they’re in a group. I didn’t know that when I asked a man to help me move that perhaps they were only doing so because they misread my pleas as sexual advances. I do know that I’m rather opinionated and viewed as a bitch for it and I know men with the same attitude and opinion would be viewed as strong-minded. Enlightening.
        I really don’t know what else to say to this but “thanks”…or maybe “how dare you!”…I’m not sure yet. lol.

    • Sure…First, every quote seen here is a direct quote from the original McIntosh article, as some of the privileges she listed for White people in general, fit men just as well.

      Female political pundits, agitators, outspoken activists, and critics are often characterized as “bitches” for their opinions. Male counterparts are often criticized based upon the content of their opinions (ignorant, uninformed, hateful, etc.), women often have their character attacked.

    • Cool!

      I really enjoy your Weekly Conservative View. I listen to Rush a lot (I need to know what “others’ say), and you’re much easier to stomach than he is.

      • lol Im glad Im easier to stomach than he is, and Im happy you enjoy A Conservative View so much. I put most of my efforts into the series. Im gonna try to continue to put as much effort when I return to FSU in the fall for my sophomore year. You may want to listen to a man named Mark Levin. He’s kinda crazy at times but its fun to listen lol

  1. @ Chi

    I somehow missed your comments. I actually had to stop listing benefits or privileges that men have relative to women. There are far more. This is not to say that women do not have any privileges relative to men, but sociology and psychology as fields are filled with studies documenting the relative high status boys to girls.

  2. @ J

    Where do I find Mark Levin? I listen to Rush on AM radio out here. I listen to O’Reilly too, but he’s less inciteful (not “insightful”) than Rush, and that’s kinda boring.

    Anyhow, keep up the good work!

  3. I found Mark Levin through google search but i believe its marklevinshow.com. And yeah I get what ya mean by inciteful lol

  4. What is this crap? You sound totally self obsessed. For example: I and my friends worked out we could just as easily be fucked by a woman as a woman can be by a man. And that was 40 years ago. Pull your head out of your arse. Said kindly.

Leave a Reply

