Ignorance & Failure in the Body of Christ

Those who know me know that I am not a Christian for a myriad of reasons; however, I have friends who follow the religion to varying degrees (I’m a White guy who just said he has Black friends LMAO).

I do have my own history with the religion.  I used to be one of those faithful who attended morning service, YPWW (Young People’s Willing Workers) on Sunday early evening, Sunday night service, Tuesday night Bible study, Wednesday night choir rehearsal (“Melodies from heaven…..rain down on me [repeat]”), Thursday night pastoral teaching, and this does not include any revivals I might have attended.

Here I just want to deal with two reasons why I’m not a Christian.  First, there appears to be a cult of anti-intellectualism amongst church goers.  For some reason, Christians seem to view learning as enmity to the Christian life.  It is not uncommon for church goers–from the leadership to the adherents–to warn college-bound members of the sin-leaning weight of knowledge (cue dramatic music and woman screaming).  In virtually every disagreement I’ve had with Christians, at some point, I pointed to the history of the construction of the religion, and I never once heard a Christian say, “Really, it was at a political conference that the books of the Bible were chosen…So, the idea of writing Jesus’ words in red actually originates in ancient Kemet…Wow…The creation story in the Bible resembles the creation story of the Egyptian god Ptah and Ra almost word for word…So ‘Amen’ is actually an ancient Egyptian god…I’m gonna look into these things”  ALL major religions share a similar stories.  In the movie Malcolm X, Malcolm suggested that one should never join an organization unless you understand it, but really, the charge that Christians are to go about the world proselytizing unbelievers leaves no room for improving one’s self for the sake of self-improvement.  A commonly held tenet of Christianity is that if it doesn’t glorify god, we should not be involved in it–whatever “it” is.  Can you imagine what all the world would lose if we all took such a charge literally or seriously?  Wow!

The other issue with Christianity has to with how ordinary Christians tend to be.  How many times have you been shocked to find that a friend of yours attends church?  Where are the “gifts of the spirit” that we are promised to see?  Any verified healings recently?  If your friends don’t know you’re  a Christian, or if you frequently find yourself involved in the same activities unbelievers revel in, perhaps you need reevaluate your “walk.”   How many times have we heard Christians cursing and involving themselves in actions of unbelievers only to suggest that WE all pray?  Look at Steve Harvey.  The problem I think that Christians are having (beyond the confusion the Bible creates) is that few are truly interested in living up to the standards of Christianity, and that makes Christians rather ordinary in extraordinary ways.

Look, if you’re a Christian, don’t be upset that I’ve said these things.  DO BETTER!  Be a better Christian.  Know your Bible (its history) and your religion (its history), and do better!  I, for one, would have much less to say about Christians if they were known for following the letter of Christian precepts to the highest degree possible.

5 thoughts on “Ignorance & Failure in the Body of Christ

  1. I am by no means a “Christian” and that is simply because I don’t understand how to be one yet, I do not like nor understand the idea of church and after attending a private Christian school for 6 years could only see the Bible as a book of stories.

    I have also witnessed that the “loudest” Christians tend to be the biggest hypocrites. Because as you pointed out they curse, they party and some even engage in premarital “activities”. I think that the “standards” of a Christian way of life need to be redefined.

    • They either need to be redefined or everyone should just admit that it’s all good with the Christian god. Gays, murderers,liars–we’re all welcome because god loves us all, and so, what is the point in living a righteous life if god makes no distinction between the righteous and the “wicked?”

    • Let me just commend your for being willing to say that you don’t know how something works. So few people are able to admit that they don’t know something or the nature of a thing. Why? Who the hell knows everything? I don’t.

  2. And that brings up the question what is “righteous” and what is “wicked”? Because it is always brought up that if you repent for your “sins” God will forgive you and accept you into heaven. So, does that mean I can keep living my life and within the last few moments of my life repent and go to heaven? And really, who determines what is “righteous” and what is “wicked”? Because all humans are flawed and aren’t supposed to judge one another.

    • Good questions to which, I do not have the answers, but I think that these questions all point to a larger question: Is there a universal morality?

      My answer is no. All social phenomena (rules for example) are culturally based, and so what is accepted in one culture may be sinful for morally repugnant to another.

      I’m glad you brought up repentance because people use this like a “get-outta-jail-free-card.” As I understand it, there is difference between an apology, saying you’re sorry, and repenting.

      An apology is merely an explanation, and it indicates no emotion.

      To say sorry may included an apology, but it comes with emotion (sorrow) for whatever was done. I’m careful to make this distinction when people are talking to me about what they did that was wrong. We must remember that no two words mean exactly the same thing. We have gradations of meaning with each word. Be aware of what you’re saying and what is being said.

      To repent is to ask for forgiveness. This may or may not be accompanied by an apology, but sorrow is a key factor. Most importantly, The difference between asking for forgiveness and saying sorry relative to repenting, is repentance implies that whatever wrongdoing that was done will NEVER be done again. I ask, how many people repent and stick to that?

Leave a Reply

