I’M SO F*CKING SICK OF HIP HOP!!

Individualistic, capitalistic, the primacy of personal property–no I’m not talking about your favorite conservative.  I’m talking about 50 Cent or Sean “P. Diddy” Combs or [enter your favorite rapper here].  While so called “conscious” brothas and sistas may believe in the village concept, hip hop’s most talented and successful artists (predominately Black) are leading the capitalist and quasi-conservative charge!  Yeah I said it, hip hop is capitalistic in nature.  It really only makes sense considering we live in a capitalist society.  Duh!

Have you listened to the lyrics of ANY of the most popular songs?  Money is their god, individualism (it’s all about me) is dominant, and f*ck you if you don’t like it.  You must be a hater!  Frankly, hip hop really ought to stop parading itself as an agent of change.  It’s laughable.  What the hell am I gonna change listening to Young Jeezy?  Well, I may decide to sell some dope for a while.  I’m just this –          – close to completely giving up on hip hop.  Well, I mean, I won’t look to hip hop to stimulate my mind anymore Craig.  All it wants to do is get me high, help me crack a few hoes, and even though that joint “Drop” by Rich Boy is absolutely bangin’, I can only hear about your cars and money so many times.

On the other hand, have you given those alternative rock stations a listen?  They lyrics are real.  You have to develop ears for the music, but the lyrics are about real life situations–NOT FANTASY.  There is no way in the f*ck that EVERYONE was the biggest drug dealer in game (whatever the game is).  Let’s be honest with ourselves folks.

While we may, as hip hop purists (whatever that is) be tempted to blame the record labels, I DON’T.  Really, the record labels are capitalist machines, and their main goal is profit.  They will produce products that earn them profits.  If we didn’t want to hear coke rap, they wouldn’t make it.  I blame us!  This is our fault.  No actually, I blame you!  I don’t buy that music.  I may download it for freedom from the piratebay, but I DON’T BUY IT!

Look, don’t get me wrong, I like to do the stanky leg too.  I like big butts, and I like the way women go ape shit when “Blame it the Alcohol” comes on.  Still, we need to do better.  Dancing is one thing, but at some point we have to think about the messages we are putting out.  Is it really not any fun if the homies can’t have none?  Come on people…

…there’s gotta be some rules!

9 thoughts on “I’M SO F*CKING SICK OF HIP HOP!!

  1. There are positives to these songs that are all about money too. They make people want to get up and get out to make money instead of sitting at home being broke.

    • I agree, and I don’t have a problem with being encouraged to hustle. In fact, life is a hustle. I take issue, however, with the “by any means necessary” mantra. All money ain’t good money, and there are many types of hustles. It would be nice to hear about some other ways to make it. Brothas want to make Bill Cosby money, but they don’t want to do what Bill Cosby did. Meanwhile, not a single rapper can boast of Bill Cosby money or influence.

  2. Agreed. Modern hip-hip is mostly lyrically abysmal. Groups like Public Enemy don’t sell records anymore, unfortunately. Mos Def does okay though, doesn’t he? He and Common are examples of good, relevant lyricists. Kanye would be OK, but his douschebag persona that makes me want to inflict bodily harm upon him every time he opens his mouth and claims he is God’s gift and the “voice of this generation” gets in the way of any appreciation I could feasibly have for his music.

    As with most music, for good hip-hip, one has to look to the underground.

    • Indeed. I find myself moving more and more towards rock and alternative (whatever that is), as I flee from the stupidity that has become hip hop. And I really feel you about Kanye. The dude is very talented, and part of hip hop (actually a major trait of Black culture) is shit-talking and boasting–even when one loses. In that sense, I don’t really mind his mouth, but that dude seems to believe that without him hip hop would cease to exist.

      On that note, Kanye said something so dope and true on that track “Brand New” with Rhyme Fest: “They say ya attitude determines your latitude; I’m high as a mufucka, fly as a mufucka; and still the mufucka you love to hate, but cain’t, cuz you love what I make.” Indeed!

  3. I agree that these songs encourage people to get out and make money. The means by which hip hop encourages people to make money is disgraceful. We encourage others to rob, cheat, and steal to make money (dollar, dollar bills yall). After that, the least we could do is encourage them to spend the money on a good cause (feeding the needy, investing, paying child support…lol)but instead hip hop encourages youth to spend their money on rims and a grill.

    I think the solution lies not only with minimizing the support of these songs and artists, but also helping change the mentality of the generaions after us. We are all products of our genetics and environment. If we can shape the environment to frown upon thrwoing away money on rims, the lyrics in hip hop music will be less offensive.

    • I think you raise a good and important issue here with generations. Each new generation tends to think that previous generation doesn’t understand the signs of the times. As a result, an eighth grader told a friend that Souljah Boy is the best rapper out right now! WTF?

      Now I should say that with every wave of hip hop up and comers, there always some more seasoned hip hop heads that complain of the “golden years.” We need to be mindful that hip hop never really had “golden years” if that means that hip hop was a positive force ONLY. There has always been gangsta rap, and sex, money, and drugs (with a bit of dance) has always been the formula. I guess I’m just tired of it. There’s no balance anymore. Hip hop is becoming wholly ignorant. One bit of interesting information is that rappers who sold drugs or pretended to have sold drugs often rap about how their mother or father or close family member was hooked on drugs. That fact signals a serious psychological problem. It’s the like the child molester who was molested as a child.

  4. A list:

    Aesop Rock
    Saul Williams
    Sage Francis
    Cannibal Ox
    Atmosphere
    Lyrics Born
    Blackalicious
    Dead Prez
    Talib Kweli
    Lauryn Hill
    Mos Def

    A smattering of talent that doesn’t rely upon the cultural images and cues you’ve listed above.

    Another list:

    Jay-Z
    Lil’ Wayne
    Eminem
    50 Cent

    Some of the rappers I actually listen to on a semi-habitual basis.

    I agree man, blame the consumer. If meaningful music sold, it’d be everywhere. Hell, fucked-up rap music is popular for the same reason alcohol is popular: it’s naughty and dangerous, it makes everyday life seem more exciting, it might make you do something stupid enough to get you laid, and it’s a cheap and available thrill. Until our ape brains move beyond the need to pound our chests and brag about our place in the status hierarchy (or our money or sexual exploits), our culture will always have an underbelly like this.

    Thankfully, though, the underbelly changes every thirty years or so as generations grow up. Rap should “mature” in the next 10-15 years, and will start displaying some common sense. Unfortunately, it will be replaced by something else that’s equally destructive and offensive.

    “If skill sold, truth be told, I probably be lyrically Talib Kwali. I wanted to rhyme like common sense, but I sold five mil, and I ain’t been rhyming like common since.”

    Amen, ‘hova.

    • Man, will rap actually “mature” in the following generations? I have heard of kids saying that Soulja Boy is the best rapper out! If that’s out future, the next generation will indeed change things, but NOT for the better. You listen to Atmosphere? I stumbled upon him recently. Man that joint “God’s Bathroom Floor” is absolutely dope!

      A double Amen for J’hova on that one!

  5. For the most part I don’t care for hip hop. I’d rather listen to guitars, stringed instruments, piano concertos, and horns. Real drums over beat box anyday! Revive rock music!

Leave a Reply

